50th Anniversary


Gala Dinner and Dance

The sun shining on the choppy water of English Bay, Stanley Park, the City and the RVYC docks was the perfect backdrop for the final event of Burnaby Power and Sail Squadron’s 50th Anniversary year. The Gala was attended by 88 members and guests including Past Chief Commanders Norm Dyck and Gordon Springate, Past District Commanders Josie Ross and Rhonda Jones and Current USPS District 16 Commander Barbara Erickson. Tom Ewasiuk and Sara Ewasiuk were our official photographers for the evening and offered to record all of the attendees in their fancy dress. Photos will be emailed or sent to all those who attended (send your email address if you didn’t already). The Silent Auction portion of the evening was well received and raised funds to help cover our extra costs for the event. Some lucky attendees got fantastic bargains on top quality merchandise. All items were generously donated by our sponsors (see list following). Regalia sales were light and we do have a few dozen of the special commemorative wine glasses still available to anyone who wishes to add to their set ($5 each). The tables were decorated with helium balloons surrounded by gold-festooned gift bags containing a small bottle of Chilean Malbec wine with a commemorative wine glass. No one left empty-handed and a few lucky people went home with door prizes too! Our Past Commander Dave Holbrook was presented with the illustrious Bent Prop Trophy for the slight ding to his props while in Ganges Harbour last summer.

RVYC catering lived up to their reputation for providing a plentiful banquet of gourmet foods. The dessert buffet was also a big hit. We had the wonderful opportunity to dance off those extra desserts with the music of Dr D and the Souldemons, a 10 piece band (mini orchestra actually).

The dancing continued to midnight followed by a quick clean-up.

The Committee says thank-you to all of our sponsors, Norm Dyck, Tom Ewasiuk, Sara Ewasiuk, Dr D and the Souldemons and RVYC catering staff.

The Committee members are: Bev Estock, Nancy Cocking, Lorne Reesor, Mike Matich, Neal Tyldsley, Darlene Wood, Betty Ewasiuk, Darcy O’Shea and Val O’Shea.

You can view the Squadron 50th Anniversary Gala photos by clicking on link:

50th Anniversary Photos

If you wish to purchase high quality copies of the photos please contact Tom at tom@residualimage.ca or telephone (604) 541-4015.

Photo Costs:

5″ x 7″ photo – $10 each (plus $5 each mounting if desired);

8″ x 10″ photos – $20 each (plus $10 each for mounting if desired)